Week 10- Meeting my Mentor :)

After a bit of rescheduling, this week I spent the morning at Rochedale State School meeting Prep B and Mrs Broadbent. Just like Hayley I was a little nervous at first, but I had a wonderful morning and I am feeling relieved and excited about my upcoming professional experience. I learnt a lot in such a short time. Prep B not only follows the Australian Curriculum but it also adopts the inquiry processes of the International Baccalaureate. It was very interesting hearing how Mrs Broadbent merged this programme with the Australian Curriculum. The children were adorable. They were not shy at all. They told me all about the different things they do during the day including ‘Groovy Group Times’ and ‘Discovery Learning.’ At the moment they are learning about how animals and plants survive so I think my planning will extend on this learning topic. I found out the children have access to a Starboard, 4 classroom computers, digital camera, video camera, ezi speak microphone, B Bots and a variety of educational software. This is a great start so over the next few weeks I will have some brainstorming to do. Overall I thoroughly enjoyed my morning and cant wait to begin my PRAC.

One response to “Week 10- Meeting my Mentor :)

Leave a Reply

jtwelchblog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Casey Olver - Blog

“A teacher affects eternity: he can never tell where his influence stops.” ~ Henry Adams

Learning is Growing

A pre-service educator's learning journey

Sherridan W

Teaching and learning

Childs Teaching Journey

Bachelor of Education- Early Childhood @ USQ

The Constant Learner

Learning something every day

Tilting at windmills?

A pessimistic optimist's journey through learning, teaching and technology

My journey with ICT

Capturing my thoughts, feelings, and reflections.

gemmapearce06

A Journey Through Learning

